Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas with Green Sauce

Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas with Green Sauce

By Chef Lippe

 

In the hot summer months I like to use my crockpot a lot, it frees up my day to spend time at the beach or in the pool and still have a great meal.  Chicken is one of my favorite items to slow cook.  I put chicken thighs with skin and bones to start my enchiladas and let them slow cook on low for about 3 hours more if frozen.  Then I let them cool so I can pull out the bones and skins later in the day for the enchiladas.

Ingredients for Green Sauce:

3 Tablespoons virgin olive oil

1 large onion, minced

6 cloves garlic, minced

2 green peppers chopped

2 jalapenos, (seeds and ribs removed for mild sauce)

1 ½ pounds small tomatillos, husked and quartered

½ bunch of cilantro, rough chopped

1 ½ teaspoons sea salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 ½ teaspoon cumin

4 cups chicken broth

2 Tablespoons sugar

 

In a large saucepan, sauté onions until tender in oil.

 

While onions are sautéing combine tomatillos, green and jalapeno peppers, cilantro in a blender and process until smooth (you can add some of the chicken broth if you need more liquid to make it smooth)

 

Add garlic to onion mixture in saucepan and cook until fragrant.

 

Pour in tomatillo mixture.

 

Add chicken broth, salt, pepper and cumin and simmer uncovered up to an hour, depends on the consistency you like.  I like about 30 minutes but have gone as long as an hour.

 

Cool can be made a few days ahead and refrigerated.

 

Ingredients for Enchiladas:

 

2 pounds cooked and shredded chicken (about 4 pounds of chicken thighs)

1/3 cup honey

¼ cup lime juice

1 Tablespoon chili powder

1 ½ cups green sauce

4 to 5 cups of mozzarella and cheddar cheese shredded and mixed together

Flour tortillas

 

Mix together 2 cups of sauce with honey, lime and chili.

 

Add 1 cup to shredded chicken and let soak for about 30 minutes

 

Spray oil onto a 9 x 13 baking dish add ½ cup sauce to coat bottom of baking dish.

 

Fill tortillas with shredded meat and desired amount of cheese. Roll and place in baking dish.  Repeat this step making as many as you need.

 

Pour remainder of sauce over enchiladas and sprinkle with more cheese.

 

Bake uncovered at 350 for 30 minutes.

 

For last 5 minutes place under broiler to make cheese nice and brown.

 

Enjoy.

5 Comments

Filed under Artisan Cheese, Chef Lippe, Chile Powder, Food, Mozzarella, olive oil, Pepper, recipes, Slow Food

5 responses to “Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas with Green Sauce

  1. I just ordered a slow cooker, perfect timing. I love enchilada’s. These sound great. I can’t wait to get my cooker so I can make these.

  2. Can I use corn tortillas? I am trying to be gluten free as much as possible! : )

  3. This looks DELICIOUS! 🙂 Thanks for following my blog!!

  4. I love homemade enchiladas! These look great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

